Posted in School Age

K/1 Home Art Studio Supplies and Bookshark Alignment

This year, my younger child will be homeschooling.  She’s had two years of preschool and isn’t yet Kindergarten age, so we are going to have a full-time homeschool “gap year.”

Check out my video on You Tube where I go through all of the supplies included in the kit.

For our art lessons, we are going to use the Home Art Studio program.  I purchased both Kindergarten and First Grade, because there are 17 and 18 lessons for the year, respectively, and we follow the traditional school calendar.  We plan to do one art project each week, so using both grades of Home Art Studio will fill our year.

I ordered the First Grade art supply kit from Jerry’s Artarama.  It is slightly more expensive than the Kindergarten kit, but comes with many more supplies.  There are only a couple small items that I will need to provide myself for our Kindergarten art projects.

ArtSupplyScreenshot

Here are the supplies provided in the supply kit from Artarama, as well as both the Kindergarten and First Grade DVDs, and printed lesson plans provided on the DVDs.

We will not be doing the art lessons in order.  Instead, I’ve gone through the projects for both grades, and tried to align them with our Bookshark Level K History and/or Science by week.  As an example, for the first week of school, we are learning about ancient Egypt with History, so I selected the “Egyptian Sunset” project.  Not every week had a clear tie in, but I aligned them as much as possible.  See below for the breakdown of which project we will be doing when.

ArtLessonOrderforBlog

If you are also doing Level K Bookshark History or Science, hopefully this list will help you increase relevancy for your Home Art Studio projects as well!

Leave a comment