Posted in prek

Organizing EmbarK12 Printouts

I am loving my new binder for L’s EmbarK12 materials!

If you would like to watch a short video about how I organized our materials, I also posted a video on YouTube.  You can watch it here.  It essentially has the same information you will find below.

We are almost through the first unit of our new EmbarK12 comprehensive program.  I quickly realized that I would need a strategy for organizing all of the papers involved in our lessons.  It really isn’t that many per unit, for unit 1, for example, I needed to print out 4 letter practice worksheets for L and 2 number practice worksheets.  But then there are more things I choose to have on hand as well, all in one place. For example, there are assessments for each subject (Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, and Fine Arts [Music & Art]) in each unit.  Theoretically you could just look at them online and then notate your child’s scores, or, if you are more technologically savvy than I, perhaps you could edit the PDF and save it electronically.  Alas, I needed hard copies.  Then, I have created a document for each unit that lists the additional materials needed for all lessons.  These are things like art supplies, books, or other random items called for in the lessons.  I wanted one go-to place to check before we began a unit, so I poured through each lesson guide for each unit and created my own. Finally, there’s the long term plan I completed to outline when L and I would do each lesson to ensure we complete the program within a year (so as to avoid having to pay a second year subscription fee, and I think the program is meant to be finished within that time frame anyway).

So.  Our new all-in-one binder for L’s EmbarK12 was born.

It’s just a super cute binder from our local dollar store.  Luckily, we are beginning our EmbarK12 journey just in time to get some smokin’ back to school deals. L liked the pink background, the flowers, and the super cool (er, weird?) animals.

Binderpic1

So, in the very front of the binder, I have the long term plan I created for L.  It’s also called a backwards plan, which I used to create in another life as a classroom teacher.  Basically, I looked at where we needed to end up by the end of the year (done with the EmbarK12 program), when we would be working on the lessons based on our schedule, and then figured out how many lessons we would need to complete, approximately, each week.  Since L is in a preschool program a few days a week and we are using EmbarK12 as a supplement, we are going through pretty slowly.  You might be faster.  See this post for more details about the long term plan.

Next, I have binder tabs for each unit.  The first thing behind each tab is the additional supply list document I created (stay tuned for a post soon including this resource for each EmbarK12 unit if you are interested in using it).

Binderpic2

Next, I have a pocket folder which contains the worksheets/practice sheets needed for the lessons on one side and the unit assessments on the other.

Binderpic3

And that’s our binder!

embark12, embark12 comprehensive, homeschool preschool, organizing embark12, embark12 plan, embark12 unit, embark12 lessons, embark12 resources, prek, online preschool, home school preschool, online prek, homeschool prek, home school prek

Leave a comment